Seven Date Ideas For Valentine’s Day

The 14th of February should always be a date to remember

Valentine’s Day is almost here. In fact, it’s only a week away. I don’t have anything planned for this big romantic day – and most certainly, got nothing on my mind that involves plenty of romance. I think for me the ideal activity to be indulging on Valentine’s Day would be to just grab my best mate and make him sit with me at the cinema. I know it’s not the wildest idea and there is no dinner involved at the movies, unless scrumptious hot dogs count, but La La Land is playing and it’s better than staying inside in my PJs and doing nothing at all. But if I had to get romantic, these date ideas would be ideal. Not only are they seasonal, they are also like a real life fairy tale and perfect.

A cold sleigh ride

Sleigh rides always remind me of Christmas. But because it is winter, they can also double up as a romantic idea – you should try it out atop snowy hills because the thrill (and beauty of the scenery combined) will make for an amazing experience.

Go to the ballet

Ballet is so romantically creative. Just to watch dancers on stage in their costumes perform to beautifully orchestrated sounds and a neat script is a treat in itself but it’s always great when you have your partner to share those moments with.

Shop for groceries from the farmer’s market

Seasonal vegetables, such as lettuce and onions can be scouted for from your local farmer’s market. This is one shopping experience that can actually be paired with your date, but make it a day-effort – the fresh veg that the two of you will pick out also needs to make up your impromptu dinner date.

Play a game

Board games and solitaire are two of my favourite ways to waste time. A game night sounds like the perfect idea because for a change you get to be one of the boys, with your guy – for your boyfriend, it would be just like a game night with the boys, except there are no requests for seriously annoying time outs from him or the whole ‘his boys, but they aren’t your guys’ all because you don’t find gambling as fun as a pretty dress, cheesy pizza and gabbing.

Snuggle with a scary book or a scary film

This is a good idea because just remembering The Shining scares me, which is why reading horror novels such as those are best kept when you have your boyfriend for company – like on the night of Valentine’s Day.

Ice skating

Right, this date might really be for people who can skate but don’t be put off by that: just make sure whilst skating like a pro (for the first time) that you only fall in the snow, when your boyfriend is not looking.

Throw snow balls at each other

I would never promise myself that I wouldn’t get carried away throwing snowballs at my date, on a date – just the thought of him laughing because he thinks I look like a kid in my jumbo woolly coat makes me want to rapidly throw bigger and bigger snowballs at him to win it and turn his smile upside down. But the flip side of this date is that it is also very cute, really fun and so cheap.

Leave a Reply

